Search form


What's On

Classical WETA 90.9 FM Bill Bukowski photo

On-Air Host

Bill Bukowski

Now Playing

Franz Schubert
Allegro for Piano 4-Hands
VivaLaVoce Marilyn Cooley

On-Air Host

Marilyn Cooley

Now Playing

George Frideric Handel

Classical Music News

James Horner's Posthumous Works Tell A Story Of His Life

September 22, 2016

The composer passed away a little over a year ago. Two final works, a film score for The Magnificent Seven and a horn concerto, prove that his emotional approach to storytelling endures.

Composer Julia Wolfe Awarded MacArthur 'Genius Grant'

September 22, 2016

The New York composer is one of 23 individuals picked this year for the prestigious annual prize, which comes with $625,000.

First Listen: John Adams, 'Scheherazade.2'

September 22, 2016

Violence against women, and a smart storyteller from the Arabian Nights, inspired John Adams' "dramatic symphony," featuring violinist Leila Josefowicz.

Critical Condition: Revisiting Composer Virgil Thomson's Masterful Prose

September 15, 2016

A remarkable American composer was also one of the country's finest critics. Another leading critic reflects on both his predecessor's work and music journalism today.

From Trash To Triumph: The Recycled Orchestra

September 14, 2016

Young musicians from a Paraguayan slum have toured the world with instruments made of garbage. They've played with Stevie Wonder and for the Pope. Now they're in a documentary.

Classical WETA your home for the best classical music in D. C.
Composer hands image

Learn how you can become a Classical WETA Corporate Sponsor


Who is your classical composer personality match?

PostClassical Ensemble

PostClassical Ensemble's Mozart, "Amadeus", and the Gran Partita

Let us help you get connected!

From the Top

From the Top

Hear the next generation of classical champions as talented teens from across the nation play the classics in concert.

Learn more →
NSO Showcase

NSO Showcase

Tune in to Classical WETA 90.9 FM on the first Wednesday of each month at 9 p.m. for performances from the National Symphony Orchestra's archives. 

Learn more →