Search form

Beyond Words: The Artistry of Illustrated Children's Books

More than 35 pieces of original art by notable children’s book illustrators are featured, including winners of the Caldecott Medal and Honor Books. Among the artists are Marcia Brown, (“Puss in Boots”), Eric Carle (praying mantis as in “The Very Quiet Cricket”), Ezra Jack Keats (“The Snowy Day”), Tomie dePaola (“Strega Nona Takes a Vacation”), Jerry Pinkney (“More Tales of Uncle Remus”), David Wiesner (“Flotsam”), Mo Willems (“Knuffle Bunny Too” and “Don’t Let the Pigeon Finish This Activity Book!”), as well as 1999 McDaniel alumna Jessica Boehman (“Bedtime Stories”), and others.

Types of media represented are watercolor, woodcut, charcoal, die cut, pen and ink, paper collage, tissue paper, acrylic and gouache.

Curated by Robert Lemieux, associate professor of communication and cinema at McDaniel, and designed by graduate students at the Corcoran College of Art + Design in Washington, D.C., with professional assistance from the National Gallery of Art, artwork is on loan from The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art, R. Michelson Galleries, and the de Grummond Collection at the University of Southern Mississippi, in addition to private collections. The exhibition will travel to the Oddfellows Gallery, Hattiesburg, Miss., to coincide with the annual Children’s Book Festival, April 9 – 11, 2014. 

Note:  Special gallery hours for the exhibition are Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday 9:30 a.m. – 4 p.m., Thursday, 9:30 a.m. – 8 p.m., and Saturday, noon – 5 p.m. The gallery is also open on Sunday, February 9, 11 a.m. – 1:30 p.m., in conjunction with Sunday Brunch on the Hill. 

Categories: Arts, Books & Authors, Free

Event Venue

McDaniel College

2 College Hill
Westminster, MD 21157

For more information:

  • Monday, January 27, 2014
  • Tuesday, January 28, 2014
  • Wednesday, January 29, 2014
  • Thursday, January 30, 2014
  • Friday, January 31, 2014
  • Saturday, February 1, 2014
  • Sunday, February 2, 2014
  • Monday, February 3, 2014
  • Tuesday, February 4, 2014
  • Wednesday, February 5, 2014
  • Thursday, February 6, 2014
  • Friday, February 7, 2014
  • Saturday, February 8, 2014
  • Sunday, February 9, 2014
  • Monday, February 10, 2014
  • Tuesday, February 11, 2014
  • Wednesday, February 12, 2014
  • Thursday, February 13, 2014
  • Friday, February 14, 2014
  • Saturday, February 15, 2014
  • Monday, February 17, 2014
  • Tuesday, February 18, 2014
  • Wednesday, February 19, 2014
  • Thursday, February 20, 2014
  • Friday, February 21, 2014
  • Saturday, February 22, 2014
  • Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Tuesday, February 25, 2014
  • Wednesday, February 26, 2014
  • Thursday, February 27, 2014
  • Friday, February 28, 2014
  • Saturday, March 1, 2014
  • Monday, March 3, 2014
  • Tuesday, March 4, 2014
  • Wednesday, March 5, 2014
  • Thursday, March 6, 2014
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest