Search form

Drink This! International Ceramic Cup Show at the Workhouse Arts Center

“Drink This!” is on exhibit January 8 through February 2, 2014 in Building 8 at Workhouse Arts Center, 9601 Ox Road, Lorton, Virginia. Hours are from 11am - 5pm on Mondays and Tuesdays, 11am to 6pm Wednesdays through Saturdays, and  12-5pm on Sundays.

From the elegant, ceremonial tumbler to the comfortable simple mug, an exhibition of 71 works from five countries offers a surprising sample of the many ways contemporary artists interpret the cup in "Drink This!" Workhouse International Ceramic Cup Show.

Juried by internationally recognized ceramic artist and  professor Sam Chung, the show presents lively and unusual approaches to the ceramic drinking vessel. The 71 works represented here were selected from hundreds of entries from ten countries. “There were cups that told a story that transcended the object itself,” Chung said, “while others created an innate craving for a drink that fit the cup’s character. These were the cups that pushed me over the edge.”

Public Opening Reception: Saturday, January 11, 6pm 
 
Admission is free. For more information, call (703)584-2982 or www.workhouseceramics.org.

Categories: Arts, Exhibits

Event Venue

The Workhouse Arts Center

9601 Ox Road
Lorton, VA 22079
  • Wednesday, January 8, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Thursday, January 9, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Friday, January 10, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Saturday, January 11, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, January 12, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Monday, January 13, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Tuesday, January 14, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Wednesday, January 15, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Thursday, January 16, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Friday, January 17, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Saturday, January 18, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, January 19, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Monday, January 20, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Tuesday, January 21, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Wednesday, January 22, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Thursday, January 23, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Friday, January 24, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, January 26, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Monday, January 27, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Tuesday, January 28, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Wednesday, January 29, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Thursday, January 30, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Friday, January 31, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Saturday, February 1, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, February 2, 2014 - 11:00am
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest