Search form

Washington National Opera: Show Boat

Show Boat
Music by Jerome Kern
Book & Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II

Based on the novel Show Boat by Edna Ferber
Company Premiere & New Production
Co-production with Lyric Opera of Chicago, the San Francisco Opera Association, & Houston Grand Opera

This spectacular new production of Show Boat, Broadway's original masterpiece, brings unforgettable songs, dazzling choreography, and an epic story together to make great entertainment and great art. With something in store around every bend as the Cotton Blossom travels the Mississippi with a troupe of riverboat performers, Julie, Joe, Queenie, and of course Magnolia and Ravenal make their way through the decades, navigating the trials of show business, love, and loss in a landscape overshadowed by racial inequality.

"This joyous, beautifully mounted entertainment should keep rolling along for a long while to come."
--Chicago Tribune

Approx. 3-1/2 hours

Event begins at

Presented by: Washington National Opera

Event Venue

Kennedy Center, Opera House

2700 F Street, NW
Washington 20037

For more information:

  • Saturday, May 4, 2013
  • Sunday, May 5, 2013
  • Monday, May 6, 2013
  • Tuesday, May 7, 2013
  • Wednesday, May 8, 2013
  • Thursday, May 9, 2013
  • Friday, May 10, 2013
  • Saturday, May 11, 2013
  • Sunday, May 12, 2013
  • Monday, May 13, 2013
  • Tuesday, May 14, 2013
  • Wednesday, May 15, 2013
  • Thursday, May 16, 2013
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest