Search form

The Government Inspector

In Gogol’s witty and hilarious satire of provincial Russian bureaucracy, Hlestakov, a civil servant whose imagination runs rampant, has arrived from Saint Petersburg to a small town and is living it up on the government’s dime. When bumbling town officials mistake him for an incognito inspector investigating them for corruption, a comedy of errors begins and chaos ensues. Featuring Derek Smith (Much Ado About Nothing, The Merchant of Venice) and directed by Artistic Director, Michael Kahn, “America’s premier classical director” (Atlanta Journal Constitution), The Government Inspector portrays self deception, mockery, and pandemonium in this ironic comedy.

Event begins at

Presented by: SHAKESPEARE THEATRE COMPANY

Categories: Theater

Event Venue

Lansburgh Theatre

450 7th Street NW
Washington 20004

For more information:

  • Thursday, September 13, 2012
  • Friday, September 14, 2012
  • Saturday, September 15, 2012
  • Sunday, September 16, 2012
  • Monday, September 17, 2012
  • Tuesday, September 18, 2012
  • Wednesday, September 19, 2012
  • Thursday, September 20, 2012
  • Friday, September 21, 2012
  • Saturday, September 22, 2012
  • Sunday, September 23, 2012
  • Monday, September 24, 2012
  • Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • Wednesday, September 26, 2012
  • Thursday, September 27, 2012
  • Friday, September 28, 2012
  • Saturday, September 29, 2012
  • Sunday, September 30, 2012
  • Monday, October 1, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 2, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 3, 2012
  • Thursday, October 4, 2012
  • Friday, October 5, 2012
  • Saturday, October 6, 2012
  • Sunday, October 7, 2012
  • Monday, October 8, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 9, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 10, 2012
  • Thursday, October 11, 2012
  • Friday, October 12, 2012
  • Saturday, October 13, 2012
  • Sunday, October 14, 2012
  • Monday, October 15, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 16, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 17, 2012
  • Thursday, October 18, 2012
  • Friday, October 19, 2012
  • Saturday, October 20, 2012
  • Sunday, October 21, 2012
  • Monday, October 22, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 23, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 24, 2012
  • Thursday, October 25, 2012
  • Friday, October 26, 2012
  • Saturday, October 27, 2012
  • Sunday, October 28, 2012
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest