Search form

Beyond the Parking Lot

Fri Aug 24 - Sun Nov 4 / Free / Terrace Gallery

Inspired by the Joni Mitchell song, “Big Yellow Taxi” where “they paved paradise and they put up a parking lot,” Beyond the Parking Lot will motivate the viewer to think how we have used and deserted the land that surrounds us in our everyday life. These scarred landscapes covered in pavement—be it vacated buildings, parking lots and roadways—are found across the United States. Do we have the obligation to return our landscape back to its original condition? This exhibit shows contemporary landscapes by artists who are observing these changes, exposing the use of the environment in compromising ways and instigates the discussion of “where do we go from here?”

Event begins at

Categories: Free, Exhibits, Arts

Event Venue

Artisphere

1101 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22209

For more information:

  • Friday, August 24, 2012
  • Saturday, August 25, 2012
  • Sunday, August 26, 2012
  • Monday, August 27, 2012
  • Tuesday, August 28, 2012
  • Wednesday, August 29, 2012
  • Thursday, August 30, 2012
  • Friday, August 31, 2012
  • Saturday, September 1, 2012
  • Sunday, September 2, 2012
  • Monday, September 3, 2012
  • Tuesday, September 4, 2012
  • Wednesday, September 5, 2012
  • Thursday, September 6, 2012
  • Friday, September 7, 2012
  • Saturday, September 8, 2012
  • Sunday, September 9, 2012
  • Monday, September 10, 2012
  • Tuesday, September 11, 2012
  • Wednesday, September 12, 2012
  • Thursday, September 13, 2012
  • Friday, September 14, 2012
  • Saturday, September 15, 2012
  • Sunday, September 16, 2012
  • Monday, September 17, 2012
  • Tuesday, September 18, 2012
  • Wednesday, September 19, 2012
  • Thursday, September 20, 2012
  • Friday, September 21, 2012
  • Saturday, September 22, 2012
  • Sunday, September 23, 2012
  • Monday, September 24, 2012
  • Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • Wednesday, September 26, 2012
  • Thursday, September 27, 2012
  • Friday, September 28, 2012
  • Saturday, September 29, 2012
  • Sunday, September 30, 2012
  • Monday, October 1, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 2, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 3, 2012
  • Thursday, October 4, 2012
  • Friday, October 5, 2012
  • Saturday, October 6, 2012
  • Sunday, October 7, 2012
  • Monday, October 8, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 9, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 10, 2012
  • Thursday, October 11, 2012
  • Friday, October 12, 2012
  • Saturday, October 13, 2012
  • Sunday, October 14, 2012
  • Monday, October 15, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 16, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 17, 2012
  • Thursday, October 18, 2012
  • Friday, October 19, 2012
  • Saturday, October 20, 2012
  • Sunday, October 21, 2012
  • Monday, October 22, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 23, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 24, 2012
  • Thursday, October 25, 2012
  • Friday, October 26, 2012
  • Saturday, October 27, 2012
  • Sunday, October 28, 2012
  • Monday, October 29, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 30, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 31, 2012
  • Thursday, November 1, 2012
  • Friday, November 2, 2012
  • Saturday, November 3, 2012
  • Sunday, November 4, 2012
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest