Search form

Juan E. Hernandez G.: "Tierra y Memoria"

Everyday life in Juan Hernandez’s native Tegucigalpa, Honduras is the inspiration for his series of paintings and linocuts. “Tierra y Memoria” will be featured at The Art League Gallery October 4 – November 5, 2012.

Hernandez paints what he knows and what he’s lived. His straightforward compositions, bold lines, texture, and defined shapes effectively capture the emotion of the people he portrays. He most often depicts people working on the streets performing humble, day-to-day, low-income jobs.

“My goal is not so much to make a representation of these scenes and their protagonists, but to express something about their human condition and the nature of their lives. These pieces are filled with my deep feelings for these people who are part of a country that faces many social, economic, and political challenges.”

Event begins at 10:00AM

Presented by: The Art League

Categories: Free, Exhibits, Arts

Event Venue

The Art League Gallery

105 N Union Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
  • Thursday, October 4, 2012
  • Friday, October 5, 2012
  • Saturday, October 6, 2012
  • Sunday, October 7, 2012
  • Monday, October 8, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 9, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 10, 2012
  • Thursday, October 11, 2012
  • Friday, October 12, 2012
  • Saturday, October 13, 2012
  • Sunday, October 14, 2012
  • Monday, October 15, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 16, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 17, 2012
  • Thursday, October 18, 2012
  • Friday, October 19, 2012
  • Saturday, October 20, 2012
  • Sunday, October 21, 2012
  • Monday, October 22, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 23, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 24, 2012
  • Thursday, October 25, 2012
  • Friday, October 26, 2012
  • Saturday, October 27, 2012
  • Sunday, October 28, 2012
  • Monday, October 29, 2012
  • Tuesday, October 30, 2012
  • Wednesday, October 31, 2012
  • Thursday, November 1, 2012
  • Friday, November 2, 2012
  • Saturday, November 3, 2012
  • Sunday, November 4, 2012
  • Monday, November 5, 2012
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest