Search form

Andrew Zimmermann: Cold River

Characterized by the sweeping planes of ice and rushing water currents of Colorado in winter,
Andrew Zimmermann’s collection of black and white photographs, “Cold River,” will be on display
in The Art League Gallery November 8 – December 3, 2012. In conjunction with his exhibit,
Zimmermann will also present an artist talk detailing his process and this body of work on
Saturday, November 10 at 1:00 pm.

In this series, Zimmermann focuses on the stark contrasts in the environment – the variation
between solid and liquid, static and active. There is sharpness in the demarcation between ice
and flowing water, while the fluidity of the water itself creates a blurred indication of movement.
The pure blacks and whites inherent in Zimmermann’s photography are an ideal vehicle for
representing the distinctly linear, spare quality of the landscape.

Event begins at 10:00AM

Presented by: The Art League

Categories: Free, Exhibits, Arts

Event Venue

The Art League Gallery

105 N Union Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
  • Thursday, November 8, 2012
  • Friday, November 9, 2012
  • Saturday, November 10, 2012
  • Sunday, November 11, 2012
  • Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Tuesday, November 13, 2012
  • Wednesday, November 14, 2012
  • Thursday, November 15, 2012
  • Friday, November 16, 2012
  • Saturday, November 17, 2012
  • Sunday, November 18, 2012
  • Monday, November 19, 2012
  • Tuesday, November 20, 2012
  • Wednesday, November 21, 2012
  • Thursday, November 22, 2012
  • Friday, November 23, 2012
  • Saturday, November 24, 2012
  • Sunday, November 25, 2012
  • Monday, November 26, 2012
  • Tuesday, November 27, 2012
  • Wednesday, November 28, 2012
  • Thursday, November 29, 2012
  • Friday, November 30, 2012
  • Saturday, December 1, 2012
  • Sunday, December 2, 2012
  • Monday, December 3, 2012
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest