Search form

Woody Sez: The Life & Music of Woody Guthrie

Devised by David M. Lutken
with Nick Corley and
Darcie Deaville, Helen Russell and Andy Teirstein

“A high spirited celebration”- The Guardian

Celebrate the 100th birthday of Woody Guthrie, the creator of American classics like “This Land is Your Land” and “The Ballad of Tom Joad!” This boisterous retelling of the life of America’s troubadour blends musical numbers, scenes from Guthrie’s life and excerpts from his progressive newspaper column. The infectious and moving piece brings to life a true American hero, who proudly declared he would “always be there whenever working folks fight for their rights.”

This internationally-acclaimed production, courtesy of Mary Cossette Production, played London's West End last season to great acclaim after receiving raves at the Edinburgh Festival.

Event begins at

Presented by: Theater J

Categories: Theater

Event Venue

DCJCC, Aaron & Cecile Goldman Theater

1529 16th Street, NW
Washington 20036

For more information:

  • Thursday, November 8, 2012
  • Friday, November 9, 2012
  • Saturday, November 10, 2012
  • Sunday, November 11, 2012
  • Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Tuesday, November 13, 2012
  • Wednesday, November 14, 2012
  • Thursday, November 15, 2012
  • Friday, November 16, 2012
  • Saturday, November 17, 2012
  • Sunday, November 18, 2012
  • Monday, November 19, 2012
  • Tuesday, November 20, 2012
  • Wednesday, November 21, 2012
  • Thursday, November 22, 2012
  • Friday, November 23, 2012
  • Saturday, November 24, 2012
  • Sunday, November 25, 2012
  • Monday, November 26, 2012
  • Tuesday, November 27, 2012
  • Wednesday, November 28, 2012
  • Thursday, November 29, 2012
  • Friday, November 30, 2012
  • Saturday, December 1, 2012
  • Sunday, December 2, 2012
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest