Search form

Carolina Mayorga: Infestation

Infestation is a multimedia project including performance art and a site-specific installation with vinyl ants that slowly and unexpectedly will invade Artisphere’s Works in Progress Gallery and areas throughout Artisphere. The piece comments on migration, a recurring theme in Mayorga’s work. Infestation will be unexpected, familiar and following its basic definition, “undesirable numerous and troublesome.” Part of this project will become a semi–permanent installation at Artisphere. Mayorga, who also explores performance art in her work, will act as an invader herself by occupying Artisphere spaces at random hours—inhabiting the steps, common areas and intricate corners with her presence and vinyl ants. As part of the incursion, visitors might become intruders themselves as they will be asked to participate in the meticulous ant installation process. After a few weeks, the artist as a pest controller will slowly get rid of the infestation. Come and see where the infestation will spread to next!

Event begins at

Categories: Exhibits

Event Venue

Artisphere

1101 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22209

For more information:

  • Wednesday, February 6, 2013
  • Thursday, February 7, 2013
  • Friday, February 8, 2013
  • Saturday, February 9, 2013
  • Sunday, February 10, 2013
  • Monday, February 11, 2013
  • Tuesday, February 12, 2013
  • Wednesday, February 13, 2013
  • Thursday, February 14, 2013
  • Friday, February 15, 2013
  • Saturday, February 16, 2013
  • Sunday, February 17, 2013
  • Monday, February 18, 2013
  • Tuesday, February 19, 2013
  • Wednesday, February 20, 2013
  • Thursday, February 21, 2013
  • Friday, February 22, 2013
  • Saturday, February 23, 2013
  • Sunday, February 24, 2013
  • Monday, February 25, 2013
  • Tuesday, February 26, 2013
  • Wednesday, February 27, 2013
  • Thursday, February 28, 2013
  • Friday, March 1, 2013
  • Saturday, March 2, 2013
  • Sunday, March 3, 2013
  • Monday, March 4, 2013
  • Tuesday, March 5, 2013
  • Wednesday, March 6, 2013
  • Thursday, March 7, 2013
  • Friday, March 8, 2013
  • Saturday, March 9, 2013
  • Sunday, March 10, 2013
  • Monday, March 11, 2013
  • Tuesday, March 12, 2013
  • Wednesday, March 13, 2013
  • Thursday, March 14, 2013
  • Friday, March 15, 2013
  • Saturday, March 16, 2013
  • Sunday, March 17, 2013
  • Monday, March 18, 2013
  • Tuesday, March 19, 2013
  • Wednesday, March 20, 2013
  • Thursday, March 21, 2013
  • Friday, March 22, 2013
  • Saturday, March 23, 2013
  • Sunday, March 24, 2013
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest