Search form

Exhibit: Noah Williams' "One Man's Trash"

Sculptor Noah Williams successfully breathes new life into discarded objects by creating imaginative large-scale works of art. His exhibit of found art sculptures, “One Man’s Trash,” will be on view at The Art League Gallery May 9 – June 3, 2013.

Inspired by his former day job as a trash collector, Williams uses his experience and vision to artfully rethink and repurpose various pieces of trash. Williams sees potential in each piece of scrap metal, every abandoned tire. His innate sense of how to combine such disparate elements into visually intriguing and colossal sculptures is what makes his work stand out.

Found art is defined as the undisguised use of objects that are not normally considered art. Its significance is derived from the designation placed upon it from the artist – the arrangement and context of the work. Williams’ depictions of animals, machines, and masks, both real and imagined, are intended to inspire viewers to be aware of the waste they create and the alternative uses for disposable materials. Multiple layers of wire, metal, and unexpected objects invite viewers to explore each sculpture and spark their sense of curiosity.

Event begins at 10:00AM

Event Venue

The Art League Gallery

105 N Union Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
  • Thursday, May 9, 2013
  • Friday, May 10, 2013
  • Saturday, May 11, 2013
  • Sunday, May 12, 2013
  • Monday, May 13, 2013
  • Tuesday, May 14, 2013
  • Wednesday, May 15, 2013
  • Thursday, May 16, 2013
  • Friday, May 17, 2013
  • Saturday, May 18, 2013
  • Sunday, May 19, 2013
  • Monday, May 20, 2013
  • Tuesday, May 21, 2013
  • Wednesday, May 22, 2013
  • Thursday, May 23, 2013
  • Friday, May 24, 2013
  • Saturday, May 25, 2013
  • Sunday, May 26, 2013
  • Monday, May 27, 2013
  • Tuesday, May 28, 2013
  • Wednesday, May 29, 2013
  • Thursday, May 30, 2013
  • Friday, May 31, 2013
  • Saturday, June 1, 2013
  • Sunday, June 2, 2013
  • Monday, June 3, 2013
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest