Search form

Exhibit: Jennifer Brewer Stone's “Fantasy of the Real”

Tropical flora and fauna leap from Jennifer Brewer Stone’s canvases, engaging the viewer with vibrant color and layered compositions. These oil paintings move beyond botanical illustration and explore the physical connections between plant and animal life. “Fantasy of the Real” will be on view in The Art League Gallery July 5 – August 5, 2013.

Stone overlaps objects like leaves and butterfly wings, flower petals and seahorse fins to create dreamlike paintings that burst with color and celebrate life. She successfully captures the heat and tension of the tropical climate through color, balanced compositions, and multiple layers.

By photographing source material when it appeals to her, Stone is able to build an extensive library of inspiration and imagery. Stone’s dynamic, graphic compositions allow the forms to work together and play off each other, highlighting interesting textures and shapes and encouraging visual connections.

Opening Reception: Thursday, July 11, 6:30–8:00 pm

Event begins at

Presented by: The Art League

Featured Artist(s): Jennifer Brewer Stone

Categories: Free, Exhibits, Arts

Event Venue

The Art League Gallery

105 N Union Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
  • Friday, July 5, 2013
  • Saturday, July 6, 2013
  • Sunday, July 7, 2013
  • Monday, July 8, 2013
  • Tuesday, July 9, 2013
  • Wednesday, July 10, 2013
  • Thursday, July 11, 2013
  • Friday, July 12, 2013
  • Saturday, July 13, 2013
  • Sunday, July 14, 2013
  • Monday, July 15, 2013
  • Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Wednesday, July 17, 2013
  • Thursday, July 18, 2013
  • Friday, July 19, 2013
  • Saturday, July 20, 2013
  • Sunday, July 21, 2013
  • Monday, July 22, 2013
  • Tuesday, July 23, 2013
  • Wednesday, July 24, 2013
  • Thursday, July 25, 2013
  • Friday, July 26, 2013
  • Saturday, July 27, 2013
  • Sunday, July 28, 2013
  • Monday, July 29, 2013
  • Tuesday, July 30, 2013
  • Wednesday, July 31, 2013
  • Thursday, August 1, 2013
  • Friday, August 2, 2013
  • Saturday, August 3, 2013
  • Sunday, August 4, 2013
  • Monday, August 5, 2013
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest