Search form

AFI Latin American Film Festival

Now in its 24th year, the AFI Latin American Film Festival showcases the best filmmaking from Latin America and, with the inclusion of films from Spain and Portugal, celebrates Ibero-American cultural connections. The 2013 festival features an expansive lineup of exciting new films making their local premieres.

Highlights of the festival include Opening Night film VIOLA, an Argentine spin on Shakespeare's "Twelfth Night"; SO MUCH WATER [Tanta Agua], a multi-award-winning coming-of-age tale from Uruguay; VIRAMUNDO, a documentary about Brazilian musical star-turned-Ministry of Culture Gilberto Gil; and RIO 2096: A STORY OF LOVE AND FURY [Uma história de amor e fúria], a visionary animated film, awarded the top prize at this year's Annecy Animated Film Festival.

For the multiple film-goer, the Pase Especial provides you with one priority admission to every film in the Festival, including the Opening and Closing Night presentations. Single film tickets are $12, and special combo ticket package rates are also available with the purchase of eight or more tickets. More information can be found at AFI.com/Silver.

Event begins at

Presented by: AFI Silver Theatre and Cultural Center

Event Venue

AFI Silver Theater and Cultural Center

8633 Colesville Road
Silver Spring , MD 20910
  • Thursday, September 19, 2013
  • Friday, September 20, 2013
  • Saturday, September 21, 2013
  • Sunday, September 22, 2013
  • Monday, September 23, 2013
  • Tuesday, September 24, 2013
  • Wednesday, September 25, 2013
  • Thursday, September 26, 2013
  • Friday, September 27, 2013
  • Saturday, September 28, 2013
  • Sunday, September 29, 2013
  • Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Tuesday, October 1, 2013
  • Wednesday, October 2, 2013
  • Thursday, October 3, 2013
  • Friday, October 4, 2013
  • Saturday, October 5, 2013
  • Sunday, October 6, 2013
  • Monday, October 7, 2013
  • Tuesday, October 8, 2013
  • Wednesday, October 9, 2013
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest