Search form

Appropriate

In this searing and audacious comic drama, the estranged members of the Lafayette family return to Arkansas, and their crumbling old plantation home, to settle the accounts of their recently deceased patriarch. As they sort through a hoarded lifetime of mementos and junk, they discover a gruesome relic that sends the family spiraling into a dark history of repressed memories and family secrets.

Playwright Branden Jacobs-Jenkins returns to his hometown of Washington, DC with a production that appropriates a classic trope—the great white family drama a la O’Neill or Tennessee Williams—to brilliantly subvert our assumptions, and challenge us to re-consider our own histories and souls.

Show Schedule: Wednesday through Friday at 8pm, Saturday at 3pm & 8pm, Sunday at 2pm & 7pm from November 4 through December 1, 2013. Pay-What-You-Can performances on November 4 and November 5. There will be no performance on November 28. Tickets starting at $35. Prices subject to change.

Event begins at 8:00PM

Presented by: Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company

Categories: Theater

Event Venue

Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company

641 D Street NW
Washington, DC
  • Monday, November 4, 2013
  • Wednesday, November 6, 2013
  • Thursday, November 7, 2013
  • Friday, November 8, 2013
  • Saturday, November 9, 2013
  • Sunday, November 10, 2013
  • Wednesday, November 13, 2013
  • Thursday, November 14, 2013
  • Friday, November 15, 2013
  • Saturday, November 16, 2013
  • Sunday, November 17, 2013
  • Wednesday, November 20, 2013
  • Thursday, November 21, 2013
  • Friday, November 22, 2013
  • Saturday, November 23, 2013
  • Sunday, November 24, 2013
  • Wednesday, November 27, 2013
  • Friday, November 29, 2013
  • Saturday, November 30, 2013
  • Sunday, December 1, 2013
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest