Search form

Japanese Screens: Landscapes and Waterscapes

Surrounded by seas, the Japanese islands are permeated by bays, rivers, and lakes. Water appears in nearly every landscape, a reminder of its dominance in the natural and human worlds. A highlight of the works on view in this installation is Maruyama Okyo’s Geese Flying over a Beach, a masterpiece of ink painting and a favorite of museum founder Charles Lang Freer.

Categories: Arts, Exhibits

Event Venue

Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution

1050 Independence Ave SW
Washington, DC 20560
  • Thursday, June 5, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, June 6, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, June 7, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, June 8, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, June 9, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, June 10, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, June 11, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, June 12, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, June 13, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, June 14, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, June 15, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, June 16, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, June 17, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, June 19, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, June 20, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, June 21, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, June 22, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, June 23, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, June 24, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, June 25, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, June 26, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, June 27, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, June 28, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, June 29, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, June 30, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, July 1, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, July 2, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, July 3, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, July 4, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, July 5, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, July 6, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, July 7, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, July 8, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, July 9, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, July 10, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, July 11, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, July 12, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, July 13, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, July 14, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, July 15, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, July 16, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, July 17, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, July 18, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, July 19, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, July 20, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, July 21, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, July 22, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, July 23, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, July 25, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, July 26, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, July 28, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, July 29, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, July 30, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, July 31, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, August 1, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, August 2, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, August 3, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, August 4, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, August 5, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, August 6, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, August 7, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, August 8, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, August 9, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, August 10, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, August 11, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, August 12, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, August 13, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, August 14, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, August 15, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, August 16, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, August 17, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Monday, August 18, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Tuesday, August 19, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Wednesday, August 20, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Thursday, August 21, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Friday, August 22, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Saturday, August 23, 2014 - 4:15pm
  • Sunday, August 24, 2014 - 4:15pm
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest