Search form

Kate Samworth: Aviary Wonders Inc.

Kate Samworth is an artist and illustrator interested in story-telling and the natural world. Her work has been exhibited across the US and in Japan, Canada  and Uruguay. She studied and then taught oil painting at the New Orleans Academy of Fine Art and earned a degree in printmaking from the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Art. Her interest in most things Portuguese led her to Brazil, where she discovered a passion for bird-watching.

Aviary Wonders Inc. is a recently published dark-humored catalog and instruction manual inspired by Kate's awareness of the environmental challenges surrounding various bird populations. It offers the reader the chance to design and build their own bird. Drawings and paintings from the process of creating the book along with the final paintings will be on exhibit. Selections will be for sale. Patrons will have the opportunity to use templates designed by the artist to create their own bird.

Kate will be speaking on a panel at the Gaithersburg Book Festival on Saturday, May 17, followed by a book launch at Hooray For Books in Alexandria on May 18.

Kate Samworth lives in Charlottesville, Virginia. 

Event Venue

Artisphere

1101 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22209

For more information:

  • Wednesday, May 7, 2014
  • Thursday, May 8, 2014
  • Friday, May 9, 2014
  • Saturday, May 10, 2014
  • Sunday, May 11, 2014
  • Wednesday, May 14, 2014
  • Thursday, May 15, 2014
  • Friday, May 16, 2014
  • Saturday, May 17, 2014
  • Sunday, May 18, 2014
  • Wednesday, May 21, 2014
  • Thursday, May 22, 2014
  • Friday, May 23, 2014
  • Saturday, May 24, 2014
  • Sunday, May 25, 2014
  • Wednesday, May 28, 2014
  • Thursday, May 29, 2014
  • Friday, May 30, 2014
  • Saturday, May 31, 2014
  • Sunday, June 1, 2014
  • Wednesday, June 4, 2014
  • Thursday, June 5, 2014
  • Friday, June 6, 2014
  • Saturday, June 7, 2014
  • Sunday, June 8, 2014
  • Wednesday, June 11, 2014
  • Thursday, June 12, 2014
  • Friday, June 13, 2014
  • Saturday, June 14, 2014
  • Sunday, June 15, 2014
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest