Search form

Kiyochika: Master of the Night

#kiyochika

When self-trained artist Kobayashi Kiyochika (1847–1915) returned to his birthplace, which he had known as Edo, in 1874, he found a city transformed. Renamed Tokyo (“Eastern Capital”), it was filled with railroads, steamships, gaslights, telegraph lines, and large brick buildings. Kiyochika set out to record his views of Tokyo and completed 93 prints, approximately half of which are on view in this exhibition.

Categories: Arts, Exhibits

Event Venue

Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution

1050 Independence Ave SW
Washington, DC 20560
  • Thursday, June 5, 2014
  • Friday, June 6, 2014
  • Saturday, June 7, 2014
  • Sunday, June 8, 2014
  • Monday, June 9, 2014
  • Tuesday, June 10, 2014
  • Wednesday, June 11, 2014
  • Thursday, June 12, 2014
  • Friday, June 13, 2014
  • Saturday, June 14, 2014
  • Sunday, June 15, 2014
  • Monday, June 16, 2014
  • Tuesday, June 17, 2014
  • Wednesday, June 18, 2014
  • Thursday, June 19, 2014
  • Friday, June 20, 2014
  • Saturday, June 21, 2014
  • Sunday, June 22, 2014
  • Monday, June 23, 2014
  • Tuesday, June 24, 2014
  • Wednesday, June 25, 2014
  • Thursday, June 26, 2014
  • Friday, June 27, 2014
  • Saturday, June 28, 2014
  • Sunday, June 29, 2014
  • Monday, June 30, 2014
  • Tuesday, July 1, 2014
  • Wednesday, July 2, 2014
  • Thursday, July 3, 2014
  • Friday, July 4, 2014
  • Saturday, July 5, 2014
  • Sunday, July 6, 2014
  • Monday, July 7, 2014
  • Tuesday, July 8, 2014
  • Wednesday, July 9, 2014
  • Thursday, July 10, 2014
  • Friday, July 11, 2014
  • Saturday, July 12, 2014
  • Sunday, July 13, 2014
  • Monday, July 14, 2014
  • Tuesday, July 15, 2014
  • Wednesday, July 16, 2014
  • Thursday, July 17, 2014
  • Friday, July 18, 2014
  • Saturday, July 19, 2014
  • Sunday, July 20, 2014
  • Monday, July 21, 2014
  • Tuesday, July 22, 2014
  • Wednesday, July 23, 2014
  • Thursday, July 24, 2014
  • Friday, July 25, 2014
  • Saturday, July 26, 2014
  • Sunday, July 27, 2014
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest