Search form

Syria: Sacred Spaces. Ancient Prayers. A photographic and musical exhibition of pre-war Syria

Convergence is proud to announce an exhibition of music & photography from Jason Hamacher’s Lost Origin Sound Series, and forthcoming book, Aleppo, Syria: Witness to an Ancient Legacy. From 2005-2010, Jason was granted unprecedented access to the Syrian city of Aleppo and was able to document the apex of Syria’s modernization as well as the last remnants of ancient traditions before the eruption of civil war. Many of the people and places that appear have passed on, vanished, or been destroyed.

 

More Information:

The Syriac Orthodox Church is one of the oldest Christian institutions to read, write, and worship in the Syriac language, an ancient eastern dialect of Aramaic and the language spoken by Jesus Christ. The Edessian School of liturgy is the oldest form of Syriac Orthodox worship dating back to the poetry of St. Ephrem (303-373 CE) and the melodies of the Gnostic, Bardaisan (154–222 CE). Both men lived in ancient Edessa, present day Urfa, Turkey. These works have been passed down orally through the centuries and are collectively known as the Beth Gazo, or treasury of chants. The clergy of St. George’s Syriac Orthodox Church are the last people on earth to perform these largely unknown rituals.

 

Lost Origin Productions has been granted permission from the Syriac Orthodox Church and the Embassy of Syria in Washington D.C. to record these sacred songs. For more information visit www.ourconvergence.org and www.lostorigins.com

Categories: Arts, Exhibits, Lecture

Event Venue

The Gallery at Convergence

1801 N Quaker Lane
Alexandria, VA 22302
  • Friday, February 14, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, February 15, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 19, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, February 20, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, February 21, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, February 22, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 26, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, February 27, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, February 28, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, March 1, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 5, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, March 6, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, March 7, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, March 8, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 12, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, March 13, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, March 14, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, March 15, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 19, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, March 20, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, March 21, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, March 22, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 26, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, March 27, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, March 28, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, April 3, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, April 4, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, April 5, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 9, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, April 10, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, April 11, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 16, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, April 17, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, April 18, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, April 19, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Thursday, April 24, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, April 25, 2014 - 12:00pm
  • Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 12:00pm
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest