Search form

Netted: Morphological State of Our Urban Space

Artist Heidi Nam’s mixed media and collage works explore the transient state of our rapidly changing urban spaces. Her perception of place is informed both by her cultural and personal experiences, and her artistic process itself mirrors the course of urban development. Her solo exhibit, “Netted: Morphological State of Our Urban Space,” will be featured at The Art League March 8–April 2, 2017.

Nam’s artistic process reflects change. She begins by deconstructing her own printmaking pieces, paintings, and drawings. She uses fragments and variations from these various works and alters them to create new pieces with multiple layers and multiple meanings. Repetition, variation, and chance are core principles of her work. The layers in her artwork symbolize the constant evolution and change of space in our cities. 

Nam began studying art in her native Korea at a young age. She received her BFA from the California College of the Arts and worked as a representational artist early in her career. Nam later received her MFA at the University of Pennsylvania. She grew interested in maps, patterns, and nature, which led to her most recent body of work. Nam has exhibited throughout the Mid-Atlantic region and won numerous awards for her work.

Gallery hours:
Monday–Saturday: 10:00 am–6:00 pm
Thursday: 10:00 am–9:00 pm
Sunday: 12:00 noon–6:00 pm

Categories: Arts, Exhibits, Free

Event Venue

The Art League Gallery

105 N Union Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
  • Thursday, March 9, 2017
  • Friday, March 10, 2017
  • Saturday, March 11, 2017
  • Sunday, March 12, 2017
  • Monday, March 13, 2017
  • Tuesday, March 14, 2017
  • Wednesday, March 15, 2017
  • Thursday, March 16, 2017
  • Friday, March 17, 2017
  • Saturday, March 18, 2017
  • Sunday, March 19, 2017
  • Monday, March 20, 2017
  • Tuesday, March 21, 2017
  • Wednesday, March 22, 2017
  • Thursday, March 23, 2017
  • Friday, March 24, 2017
  • Saturday, March 25, 2017
  • Sunday, March 26, 2017
  • Monday, March 27, 2017
  • Tuesday, March 28, 2017
  • Wednesday, March 29, 2017
  • Thursday, March 30, 2017
  • Friday, March 31, 2017
  • Saturday, April 1, 2017
  • Sunday, April 2, 2017
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest