Search form

Toulouse-Lautrec Illustrates the Belle Époque

Through his lithographs and posters, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec captured the heart of Parisian nightlife in dynamic cabaret and café-concert scenes inspired by the city’s burgeoning entertainment district. A frequent visitor to lively hotspots, his record of local amusements fashioned a portrait of modern life. This special exhibition presents, for the first time in the United States, one of the foremost collections of the artist’s prints and posters. Nearly 100 examples of incomparable quality and color celebrate daily life and the premier performers of the belle époque—Aristide Bruant, Marcelle Lender, Cha-U-Kao, and others—cleverly caricatured through Toulouse-Lautrec’s perceptive skills of observation and transformation. Drawn from the artist’s most prolific years exploring lithography (1891–1899), these iconic images and rarely exhibited unique proofs provide insight into his innovative and complex process.

Categories: Exhibits, Arts

Event Venue

The Phillips Collection

1600 21st Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
  • Saturday, February 4, 2017
  • Sunday, February 5, 2017
  • Tuesday, February 7, 2017
  • Wednesday, February 8, 2017
  • Thursday, February 9, 2017
  • Friday, February 10, 2017
  • Saturday, February 11, 2017
  • Sunday, February 12, 2017
  • Tuesday, February 14, 2017
  • Wednesday, February 15, 2017
  • Thursday, February 16, 2017
  • Friday, February 17, 2017
  • Saturday, February 18, 2017
  • Sunday, February 19, 2017
  • Tuesday, February 21, 2017
  • Wednesday, February 22, 2017
  • Thursday, February 23, 2017
  • Friday, February 24, 2017
  • Saturday, February 25, 2017
  • Sunday, February 26, 2017
  • Tuesday, February 28, 2017
  • Wednesday, March 1, 2017
  • Thursday, March 2, 2017
  • Friday, March 3, 2017
  • Saturday, March 4, 2017
  • Sunday, March 5, 2017
  • Tuesday, March 7, 2017
  • Wednesday, March 8, 2017
  • Thursday, March 9, 2017
  • Friday, March 10, 2017
  • Saturday, March 11, 2017
  • Sunday, March 12, 2017
  • Tuesday, March 14, 2017
  • Wednesday, March 15, 2017
  • Thursday, March 16, 2017
  • Friday, March 17, 2017
  • Saturday, March 18, 2017
  • Sunday, March 19, 2017
  • Tuesday, March 21, 2017
  • Wednesday, March 22, 2017
  • Thursday, March 23, 2017
  • Friday, March 24, 2017
  • Saturday, March 25, 2017
  • Sunday, March 26, 2017
  • Tuesday, March 28, 2017
  • Wednesday, March 29, 2017
  • Thursday, March 30, 2017
  • Friday, March 31, 2017
  • Saturday, April 1, 2017
  • Sunday, April 2, 2017
  • Tuesday, April 4, 2017
  • Wednesday, April 5, 2017
  • Thursday, April 6, 2017
  • Friday, April 7, 2017
  • Saturday, April 8, 2017
  • Sunday, April 9, 2017
  • Tuesday, April 11, 2017
  • Wednesday, April 12, 2017
  • Thursday, April 13, 2017
  • Friday, April 14, 2017
  • Saturday, April 15, 2017
  • Sunday, April 16, 2017
  • Tuesday, April 18, 2017
  • Wednesday, April 19, 2017
  • Thursday, April 20, 2017
  • Friday, April 21, 2017
  • Saturday, April 22, 2017
  • Sunday, April 23, 2017
  • Tuesday, April 25, 2017
  • Wednesday, April 26, 2017
  • Thursday, April 27, 2017
  • Friday, April 28, 2017
  • Saturday, April 29, 2017
  • Sunday, April 30, 2017
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest